If our Camino is half as much fun as our practice hikes – this trip will be amazing!

Another day of fun getting ready for our CaminoPractice hikes

We have really worked and played hard to prepare for this journey. We started back June 2013. Our first hike was 4 or 5 miles in Travis Heights on a really freaking hot Texas summer day. After this hike we started planning and committed our calendars for the practice hikes ahead. Slowly we added more miles and eventually our packs with more and more weight.
At a month before leaving we have hiked 17 miles with our packs on several occasions. At this point 10 miles with a pack is just about feeling easy. I’m feeling really strong and confident, no blisters (I love my a Keen hiking shoes). I had developed some problems with getting hives on my feet after about 12 miles of hiking. I went to the doctor, she suggested taking Zyrtec (antihistamine) the night before my hikes. I also got cortisone cream and decided to stop using socks with wool in them. Thankfully after several long hikes that problem seems to be resolved. Ironically Danni and Elda have now developed this same condition. When I Googled “hives on feet after long hike” the first post the came up was about the Camino…So I’m now learning this is an all too common foot ailment from long hikes. We have also heard that loosing a toe nail or two, or even three during the hike is very common. My big toe had the formation of blood underneath the nail, but absolutely no pain. We shall see how the feet survive. I plan to get a pedicure just before I leave because it may be the last time my feet look pretty for awhile.

Any way…..back to my original subject matter for this post. Our practices hikes, whether it be the weekend we spent in the a woodlands of Houston with Mike and Connie, Danni and Pete’s dear friends, or hikes in the Braton Springs green belt, Town Lake trail, Georgetown Lake, Jester Estate hills…just to name a few, preparing for this trip has been incredible and the friendship and bond that has developed and I feel for my Camino gal pals has already been an experience of a life time. I truly love my Danni and Elda and feel very blessed to share the Way together.

About kvonalt

Doing my best to make the most out of the hand I've been dealt.
This entry was posted in My Camino Dream. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to If our Camino is half as much fun as our practice hikes – this trip will be amazing!

  1. Pete says:

    Kate,
    I will be following your blog all the way.
    I love all you girls,
    Pete

  2. Janie Boyle says:

    I will follow you all the way! God Bless. Hugs.

  3. Kristine Cooper says:

    Sending all our love and support Aunt D, Kate and Elda!

  4. Cindy Griffin says:

    Hey Guy’s. I’m a friend of Danni’s, which makes y’all my new friends. Im so excited for you and this great adventure that you are about to begin. I will be praying for you all, spiritually, mentally, and physically. Today I pray that the Lord will be watching over you and protecting you all the way. Great is your peace and undisturbed composure.
    Love you guys, Cindy G

  5. Danni says:

    Kate and Elda,
    Well ladies tomorrow our walk begins, I’m so ready and excited to put our training to work.
    Blessings fellow pilgrim,
    Love,
    Danni

  6. Mitzi Sullivan says:

    I’m so excited for you all. I will be following your progress each day. Have a blessed and safe pilgrimage. Can’t wait to see the pictures!

  7. Monica Wommack says:

    Praying for the three of you and all other pilgrims on the Way. My spirit is with you on this amazing walk.
    love,
    monica

  8. Maggy Morford says:

    Pete sent me the correct email address to follow you courageous gals on your incredible pilgrimage, but I didn’t get it until you left Astorga and have been playing catchup ever since. Kate, your journal entries are so vivid I feel almost as if I were with you – except my feet don’t hurt. This ancient path has been trod by crowds of others, and you must feel their presence all about you. Just think, at one time people had few alternatives besides “shank’s mare” for such travel.
    My love and prayers are with all of you.

    Maggy

Leave a comment